A Little Something Bakery

Last week at Starbucks, I overheard the woman behind me in line say, “They have the BEST cupcakes in the area!”  to the Starbucks employee.  Of course, I couldn’t let a comment like that go without inquiring, so I admitted to the nice lady that I overheard her and I was wondering where she was talking about.  She informed me that she was talking about A Little Something Bakery on Park Ave. I’ve driven by this place a million times but for some reason never felt the desire to check it out – until now!  So, before one of my regular walks at the reservoir I stopped on by to check out the bakery.  When I first walked in I was struck by the whimsical and playful decor (I loved the bright colors!).  The variety of delectable offerings caught my attention and held it for the entire rest of the time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With so many options, it was hard to choose just a few things to bring home.  Attempting to be mindful of my waistline and wallet, I decided that I would pick three items that day and come back at another time.  I opted for the coconut cupcake, the red velvet cupcake (which, according to the poll on the website, is a customer favorite), and a mini dirt bomb that is doughnut hole rolled in cinnamon and sugar.

The mini dirt bomb was very good (think:  a more grown-up and refined version of Stew Leonard’s cider doughnut holes – which I love – or the Rolls Royce of DD Munchkins).  Perfect consistency, soft doughy interior, slightly crunchy exterior, generously coated with cinnamon and sugar (and I think I detected nutmeg there too).  The bakery also has this available in muffin size.  The red velvet cupcake was perfect in taste, but the texture was a little too “moist” for me, in that it didn’t hold together when I was trying to halve it.  It crumbled apart, but the crumbs tasted good at least.  Cream cheese frosting was perfect in taste as well, but slightly too soft.  On the other hand, the coconut cupcake, while also good in the taste component, was a bit dry (like it had been sitting out for too long).  I suspect it wasn’t made the day I purchased, based on the texture, but it was close to being right.

I returned a few days later, eager to try a few other cupcake varieties.  Again, it was a tough decision but I ended up deciding on the spice cupcake with cream cheese frosting, and the chocolate cupcake with espresso frosting.  Both cupcakes were very good.  The spice cupcake paired with cream cheese frosting was the perfect way to start off the fall season.  The chocolate with espresso frosting cupcake was also good, but I was hoping for a more pronounced flavor in both the cupcake and the frosting.

All in all, A Little Something Bakery is a great local place to satisfy your sweet-tooth cravings.  The variety of goods coupled with the friendliness of the staff makes it a must-try if you’re in West Hartford.  I look forward to tasting the rest of the treats.

Leave a Reply

